The Time Will Come (7)

“The Time Will Come”  is a weekly feature hosted by Jodie from Books for Company.
Each Thursday, we share a book that might be sitting unread on our shelves for now, but we do intend to get to! 
(Thanks go to Jennifer @ It’s Fay, Not Fey! for the graphic!) 
I was so excited when I saw Gifts by the legendary Lady Le Guin on the shelves at the store! And just as excited that it was part of a series with really cool cover art!
You can’t go wrong with Ursula Le Guin, so I can’t explain or understand why I haven’t yet read this! I guess every time I pick it up and glance at the first few pages, it feels more dense in terms of world-building than I had anticipated and I’m just not feeling in the mood.  One thing is certain:  If you pick up a book and force yourself to read it when your mood and desire is not there, the experience will be less than satisfying.  So, knowing that a good series like this is waiting to be read, I patiently bide my time.

Any sci-fi/fantasy folks out there who’ve read the Annals of the Western Shore series? I’d love to hear about it!

 

3 thoughts on “The Time Will Come (7)

  1. Kate September 8, 2011 at 5:28 PM Reply

    I'll have to look this up on Goodreads, especially as you're so complimentary of the author 🙂 Intense world building at the start can be a bit of an off put

    Like

  2. Louisa September 9, 2011 at 1:17 AM Reply

    I've heard of the author, I can't remember where, but that cover looks really great! Hope that you get to it soon!

    Like

  3. Amber September 9, 2011 at 5:04 AM Reply

    That's a very insightful reason for not reading this yet and you're right. If you aren't in the mood, you're much less likely to fall in love.

    Like

Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

