Teen Zone: I Am The Mission by Allen Zadoff

A Thrilling and Highly Recommended Sequel!

I Am The MissionI Am The Mission
by Allen Zadoff


Series: The Unknown Assassin (Book 2)
Publication Date: June 17, 2014 (Hardcover)
Original Title: The Lost Mission (UK)
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Length: 432
ISBN-13:  978-0-316-199698


I-Am-the-Weapon-Allen-Zadoff

First In The Series

 Related Links:

Allen Zadoff’s Website

Read an Excerpt

My Review of I  Am The Weapon (Book 1)

 

 

 

 


Buy the Book AmazonBN

 

 

 


Publisher Synopsis

No name. No past. No remorse. Perfect, that is, until he began to ask questions and challenge his orders. Now The Program is worried that their valuable soldier has become a liability.

And so Boy Nobody is given a new mission. A test of sorts. A chance to prove his loyalty.

His objective: Take out Eugene Moore, the owner of an extremist military training camp for teenagers. It sounds like a simple task, but a previous operative couldn’t do it. He lost the mission and is presumed dead. Now our assassin is confident he can finish the job. Quickly.

But when things go awry, Boy Nobody finds himself lost in a mission where nothing is as it seems: not The Program, his allegiances, nor the truth.


My Review

I Am The Mission is no sophomore slump. It is a beautiful example of what happens when an author capitalizes on the spark of a strong series start in order to build a legitimate on-fire series. 

In book two, Zadoff allows readers to revisit Boy Nobody with an added dose of complexity in both his character and his plot. This time around, readers benefit from a more thorough look into Boy Nobody’s head. And his mission is amped up a notch or two in intensity and unpredictability.

Thematically, there is still an exploration of topics like loyalty and trust, as well as individual choice versus determinism (or in Boy Nobody’s case, programming). While Boy Nobody was definitely an anti-hero in I Am The Weapon, in I Am The Mission he emerges as someone readers will accept and embrace as heroic.

In addition to a more richly drawn character study of our hero, the new batch of secondary characters is more compelling, and there’s a welcome reappearance of a character from book one. Once again, the storyline will keep you on your toes, taking several twists and turns, one or two of which may elicit a gasp from readers. As questions from the first installment are answered, more are raised, and the series strengthens its grip on the reader.

While I didn’t turn the pages of this sequel as rapidly as its predecessor, I didn’t enjoy it any less. The increased character development allowed a more meaningful emotional connection, and as a result, I found that I actually liked it better!

— Dawn Teresa

Verdict

5 Hearts - Final

5 of 5 Hearts. A Thrilling and Highly Recommended Sequel!

This terrific sequel will convince readers that series opener I Am The Weapon was no accident. I Am The Mission proves that readers who board The Unknown Assassin train are in for a heart-stopping ride! All aboard!

The Uknown Assassin

*Disclosure of Material Connection:  I would like to thank Little, Brown and NetGalley for allowing me access to the title. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Teen Zone: I Am The Mission by Allen Zadoff

  1. […] Related Links: Allen Zadoff’s Website Allen Zadoff on Twitter My Review of I Am The Weapon (Book 1) My Review of I Am The Mission (Book 2) […]

    Like

Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

