Gratitude Begets Gratitude: Count Your Book Blessings

This post is inspired by Dove Promises. Not only are these things yummy, but they come wrapped in little messages. Sometimes they make me smile and other times give me pause, but somehow, I always manage to get one that speaks to me. For instance, I might be feeling burnt out at work when I happen upon one that says, “You have permission to do nothing.” (I quickly showed that one to the boss!)

promises_dark

Today I unwrapped a philosophical gem about gratitude:

The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.

Gratitude begets gratitude.

Count your blessings and you’ll be rewarded with even more favor.

So simple. And yet, so under-practiced. We are quick to list our gripes and complaints. We indulge in our own private — or sometimes very public — gripe fest in a misguided belief that this kind of venting does our souls good. I’ve found, though, that hate breeds more hate and anger more anger, till I”m consumed by an ever-growing darkness that burns my heart like a ball of fire. Rather than fan the flames that lash our hurting hearts, we should snuff out the sooty candle of ungratefulness. For we’ll only find our way out of the darkness of despair if we grab hold of a light that shines clean and bright: Thankfulness. 

I can hear you asking, “How is she going to tie this in to ReadLove ?”

I’m going to count my book blessings:

FrancesI’m Grateful For:

The loveable little badger who helped spark my love of reading.

Green Eggs and Ham

 

 

 

Authors like Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein who taught me that poetry could be fun.

 

ACPL

Libraries and summer reading programs. And my librarian mother who made my annual participation obligatory.

 

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

 

The first time I realized a movie was based on a book. And not only was the book enjoyable, it had a SEQUEL.

 

 

Bard

 

 

The Bard and his Prince of Denmark for knocking my socks off. And for giving voice to existential questions in a measure still unequaled.

 

 

Charon Dore

 

Dante Alighieri and Gustave Doré for their unrivaled, uncompromising depiction of the wages of sin.

 

Charlotte Bronte

Charlotte Brontë for braving a literary world dominated by men and proving that women could produce good art. And Jane Eyre for proving that life imitates art by bringing my very own Rochester into my life.


What are you thankful for? Share your thoughts in the comments!

*Please note I have not been paid or contacted by Dove Chocolates to advertise their product with this post. My love for these chocolates is genuine.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Gratitude Begets Gratitude: Count Your Book Blessings

  1. Barbara Bianchi July 12, 2014 at 3:19 PM Reply

    Nice post! Grateful to God for family, summertime, books and Chocolate, too!

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 12, 2014 at 7:11 PM Reply

      Hi, Barbara! Nice to meet you. God has richly blessed me! Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  2. Kebba Buckley Button July 12, 2014 at 6:52 PM Reply

    Dawn, I am totally with you on the illusion of the power of sounding off or complaining or venting, and I am totally with you on the true power of thankfulness. Beautiful layers unfold as we increase our gratitude for different aspects of life. Including chocolate, Dante, and Shakespeare. Stay grateful!

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 12, 2014 at 7:12 PM Reply

      Thanks, Kebba. It’s taken me a while to get here, but I’m trying to focus on the positives rather than the negatives. One day at a time!

      Like

  3. Danni July 12, 2014 at 8:23 PM Reply

    I have always and will always adore books! I hope I’m instilling that in my children as well. And please pass the chocolates this way 😉

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 4:59 PM Reply

      Hi, Danni. Thanks for coming by and sharing! Always willing to share the chocolate. Hope you like dark chocolate!

      Like

  4. Christi Lyn July 12, 2014 at 8:28 PM Reply

    Dawn, It is a pleasure to find your blog. I would like to read some of the books you have mentioned here and I also enjoy Dove chocolate’s messages. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 5:00 PM Reply

      Christi, Thanks so much for the kind words! Keep up the hard work on your running goals. I turn 40 next year, but have no plans to undertake such an endeavor!

      Like

  5. hafong July 12, 2014 at 8:31 PM Reply

    I love slogans, pep talks, fortune cookie sayings….I’m grateful for books, good health, and all the good ‘coffees’ of life.

    Lily

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 5:01 PM Reply

      Thanks, Lily. I’ve never learned to love coffee. Which is probably good for my wallet, right?

      Like

  6. Diane Boyko Achatz July 12, 2014 at 9:09 PM Reply

    Dawn, along with chocolate (yes, I genuinely LOVE Dove chocolates too and their little wrappers). I enjoyed your post today and how your life was enhanced by the books you read. I love to read. I’d rather read than do anything (including write), and although I’d never give up my Kindle Fire (received as a gift), I love everything about books: the way they feel, the way they smell, the way they just exude their “bookiness” (yes, book-i-ness, I like to make up words too). Great job! Very enjoyable.

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 5:03 PM Reply

      Books versus eBooks…I see the necessity and the time and place for both. Like you say, there is something about holding a book, smelling it, etc. Plus you don’t have to stopping to recharge a device so your battery doesn’t run out!

      Like

  7. krangara July 12, 2014 at 11:13 PM Reply

    Hey Dawn

    I feel like yelling, “WOOTWOOT”

    Your writing was SUBLIME. Your personality was REFRESHING. Your reflections were INSPIRING.

    In short, right now, I am grateful to have stumbled upon this FABULOUS post and YOU! #HUGSSSS

    Lots of love and BEST wishes
    Kitto

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 5:04 PM Reply

      Thanks, Kitto! You are always very kind. Please do come back again.

      Like

  8. lcrilley July 13, 2014 at 9:14 PM Reply

    Great tie-in! I LOVE to read . . . and your post took me back a to when I was a child. Thank you!!!! One of my friends is practicing 100 Days of Gratitude and I love looking at her Facebook posts and seeing what she is grateful for. You post is inspiring me to do the same!

    Like

    • Dawn Teresa July 13, 2014 at 9:18 PM Reply

      Thanks so much!

      As for your own thankfulness journey, I do hope you listen to your heart and follow wherever it leads. And do come back to tell me how I can read along!

      Like

  9. […] appreciated your recent post (Gratitude Begets Gratitude: Count Your Book Blessings) and wanted to share a couple thoughts on that […]

    Like

  10. […] This feels like the perfect time to revisit a favorite post of mine from the past on the subject of being grateful. Inspiration can come from anywhere. It may even surprise you. On this particular day, a piece of chocolate motivated me to give thanks. Click on the following link to read more:  Gratitude Begets Gratitude: Count Your Book Blessings […]

    Like

Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

