Picture Pages: My Princesses Learn To Be Brave & My Princesses Learn To Share

Biblical Life Lessons for Your Little Princess

Learn To Be Brave
Learn To Be Brave by Stephanie Rische
Illustrated by Heather Heyworth

Series: My Princesses (Book 1)
Publication Date: September 1, 2014
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Length: 24pp
ISBN-13: 978-1414396613





Learn To Share


Learn To Share by Amie Carlson
Illustrated by Heather Heyworth

Series: My Princesses (Book 2)
Publication Date: September 1, 2014
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Length: 24pp
ISBN-13: 978-1414396620





Related Links

Learn To Be Brave — Publisher’s Website
Learn To Share — Publisher’s Website

Buy the Books


My Princesses Learn To Be Brave




My Princesses Learn To Share



Publisher’s Synopsis

Little girls love princesses—complete with tiaras, gowns, and all things sparkly. This new, affordable picture book series captures the love of princesses and adds a biblical lesson, teaching girls that they are daughters of the King and are encouraged to live as God would want them to. The full-color art features adorable, multicultural princess characters created by Heather Heyworth.

Each story begins with a special rhyme about being a princess and includes a Bible lesson—and will provide many hours of reading fun for young princesses!

In My Princesses Learn to Be Brave, friends Grace and Hope want to play on their favorite slide at the park. However, when they get to the slide, they meet a mean bully who won’t let them. As the girls turn to leave, Grace recalls the story of Queen Esther, who bravely stood up for her people. Inspired by Esther’s story, the girls ask the bully to be their knight and invite him to play with them on the slide.

In My Princesses Learn to Share, Princess Grace and Princess Hope want to wear the same pink dress when they play dress-up. They end up ripping the dress, but Mom has a story to help them learn to share. She tells them the story of Jesus and the young boy who shared his lunch. The girls get the picture, Mom mends the dress, and they learn to share.

My Review

My favorite part of this cute series is the poem and accompanying illustration and Bible verse (1 John 3:1) found on the opening two pages of each volume:

What makes a princess? I’d sure like to know. Could I be a princess? I wish it were so!

It’s there in the Bible, so I know that it’s true. We are God’s children — You and me, too!

Since God is our Father, the King up above, We are all princesses, The ones that he loves!

This is a wonderful idea for a book series. Little girls love princesses and like to dress up in royal finery, real or imagined, and make believe that they’re a princess of a fairy tale realm. And how beautiful to let girls know that, as children of God the King, they really are princesses! Let’s not overlook one important aspect: the makers of these books realize that little princesses come from diverse backgrounds. With that in mind, might we also see, in future books, other virtuously named princesses that look Asian or Latina perhaps?

In each book, we get a peek into the girls’ every day happenings where we ultimately find Hope and Grace applying lessons they’ve learned from the Bible to overcome a challenge or problem. In book 1, My Princesses Learn To Be Brave, Esther serves as inspiration when the girls face down a playground bully. While in book 2, My Princesses Learn To Share, we see the girls fighting over the prettiest dress-up clothes until Hope’s mother relates a Bible story to teach the girls about the importance of sharing.

I can see these books being a hit with preschool girls. Just as the Berenstain Bears series imparts values and morality lessons, the My Princesses books impart biblical virtues and wisdom “to help girls live like true daughters of the King.”

For parents and girls who want to take their lessons one step further, also available through Tyndale Kids is a My Princess One Year Devotions — Preschool Edition.

— Dawn Teresa


4 Hearts - Final

4 of 5 Hearts. Biblical Life Lessons for Your Little Princess.

The My Princesses series makes biblical values and virtues both accessible and fun with these beautifully illustrated tales of friends Grace and Hope.


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I would like to thank Tyndale House Publishing, Inc. for allowing me access to these titles. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: