Christian Chapters: A Faith of Her Own by Kathleen Fuller

Kathleen Fuller’s Latest Visit to Middlefield Refreshes the Soul

A-Faith-of-Her-Own-9.29.141A Faith of Her Own
by Kathleen Fuller


Series: A Middlefield Amish Novel
Publication Date: March 17, 2015
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Length: 304pp
ISBN-13: 978-0-529-10278-2

Related Links:
Kathleen Fuller’s Website

b5ed2-facebookicon36622-twittericon


Buy the Book

  AmazonBN






Publisher Synopsis

Can Anna Mae heed God’s call on her life, even if it means leaving behind everything she knows ... and everyone she loves?

Ever since Anna Mae’s childhood friend Jeremiah left their Amish community, she’s questioned her own place in the Amish world. The Amish life feels as if it’s closing in on her, and with her mother trying to set her up with potential suitors, Anna Mae feels trapped in a life she’s not sure she wants anymore. But she’s never told anyone that she longs for a tiny taste of freedom—freedom that could be very costly.

When Jeremiah suddenly reappears in Middlefield to help his mentor, Yankee veterinarian Dr. Miller, new questions surface for Anna Mae, along with feelings she’d never fully acknowledged before.

As Anna Mae and Jeremiah rekindle their friendship, old feelings take on new meaning. Yet the question still lingers: What is God’s plan for her life? Should she stay, keeping loyal to her Amish family, or does God have a bigger plan—one that provides more freedom than she could imagine? The answers do not come easily, and the answer to God’s call may lie in different directions . . . for both of them.


My Review

As early teens, Anna Mae Shetler and her friends Amos and Jeremiah Mullet made a pact that no matter where life took them, they’d stay best friends. Nine years later, things haven’t turned out how they’d hoped. Jeremiah’s dreams of becoming a veterinarian took him away from Middlefield, his family, and Anna Mae. And struggling to find her place in the Middlefield Amish community, Anna Mae has been facing pressure from her mother to join the church and start a courtship. When Jeremiah returns to help the man under whom he apprenticed, he and Anna Mae find that the time for avoidance is over — they must own up to their feelings, both past and present.

Although I’m new to Kathleen Fuller’s work, I felt right at home reading A Faith of Her Own. It wasn’t until I finished reading this book that I discovered, to my joy, there is a story from Anna Mae’s youth: Anna Mae, Amos, and Jeremiah are featured in Hide and Seek, part of her middle-grade series, The Mysteries of Middlefield. Elsewhere, supporting characters Bekah Yoder, Johnny Mullet, and Katie (Yoder) Mullet, also appear in prior releases. Happily, this book stands alone.

Reading A Faith of Her Own was a breeze. With several different relational threads interwoven throughout, the novel never drags. Fuller smoothly switches from one storyline to another, giving readers a larger context within which to understand Anna Mae and Jeremiah. Each piece of the story was engaging, and I liked all the characters. As the assembled cast work through their individual situations, Fuller uses their experiences to explore themes like family, friendship, forgiveness, faith, and finding one’s purpose. Fuller brings such a satisfying balance of theology, humor, and heart to her writing that a visit to Middlefield refreshes the soul!

— Dawn Teresa

Verdict

4.5 of 5 Hearts. Kathleen Fuller’s Latest Visit to Middlefield Refreshes the Soul.

Fans of Beverly Lewis and James Herriot will find much to love in this story of a young Amish woman seeking A Faith of Her Own.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements

Tagged: , , , , ,

Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: