CD Review: Winter In Hope Valley by WordHarmonic

Music That Brings the Peace of the Valley Home

Winter In Hope Valley
by WordHarmonic

Release Date: October 13, 2015
Label: Word Entertainment; Hallmark
Length: 45:45

Related Links:

When Calls the Heart at Hallmark

Word Entertainment Website

DVD Review: WCTH: Complete Season 2 (Collector’s Edition)


Track Listing

1. Until the Bluebirds     (4:10)
2. Hope Valley Sunday     (3:04)
3. Icicle Prisms     (1:10)
4. A Wintry Dream     (3:56)
5. Abigail Spins Memories by the Fire     (4:14)
6. Canadian Noel     (:46)
7. Fireside Lullaby     (2:39)
8. Ms. Thatcher     (2:56)
9. Entering Hamilton Harbor     (2:21)
10. Eventides at Lake Ontario     (1:35)
11. Country Inns     (2:47)
12. Rosemary Left in Winter     (4:30)
13. Dancing Snow Flurries     (1:00)
14. Julie’s Auburn Tresses     (4:29)
15. Evening Watch (Suite)     (6:01)

My Review

Along with many other enjoyable extras, the When Calls the Heart: Complete Season 2 box set includes a CD entitled Winter In Hope Valley. This instrumental album is attributed to WordHarmonic, a (revolving, one suspects) group of house musicians for Word Entertainment. Over the years, Word has released dozens of records under the WordHarmonic name in a number of musical forms, including instrumental, acoustic, and a capella, in genres like jazz, Celtic, Christmas, salsa, hymns, and so on. Befitting the generally gentle quality of the TV show, and especially the lovely scenery surrounding the town of Hope Valley, this CD features soothing melodies, by turns wistful, contemplative, cheering, or simply serene. As you can see by the track listing, the songs are mostly full-length tunes, and though this is not a soundtrack as such, it conjures up images of the people, the town, and the winter season — with help from an imagination inspired by the titles!

A variety of instruments are in play on the disc — piano, violin, cello, pipes, whistle, keyboards, among others. The quality of the recording is excellent and the production is just right; nothing is overblown or indistinct, and the ambience of the CD as a whole is consistent. Several of the songs have a pleasant Celtic feel to them, but you’ll not find pounding drums or pulsating rhythms that make you want to dance. Instead, the music is an ideal backdrop to reading, writing, daydreaming, or simply watching the snow fall or the winter moon rise.

— Jennifer Michelle


4 Hearts - CD - DVD

4 of 5 Hearts. Music That Brings the Peace of the Valley Home.

Winter In Hope Valley may not transport you physically to the Canadian west of the early 1900s, but it will bring the peace of that wonderful little wilderness town to you.

(Unfortunately, as of this writing the CD is only available in the 10 DVD When Calls the Heart: Complete Season 2 (Collector’s Edition) box set. [There are actually 9 DVDs and this CD.] One hopes that Word and Hallmark will eventually decide to release it separately, as well as other music related to the series.)

*Disclosure of Material Connection: ReadLove received the above CD, as part of the DVD box set, for free from Edify Media in the hope that we would give it an impartial review on our blog. We am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “CD Review: Winter In Hope Valley by WordHarmonic

  1. sarahsmithstorm February 20, 2016 at 12:38 PM Reply

    I love instrumental CDs, this sounds lovely. I can’t wait to read more from you. Have a great day.


    • Jennifer Michelle February 20, 2016 at 2:41 PM Reply

      It really is a good CD and a nice bonus for buying the box set. But I wish Hallmark and Word would release it as a separate album or at least offer it as a download so more people can hear/own it. (Probably not the best music to go running by, but it’d be perfect for relaxing afterwards!)


  2. […] [Read the full review] […]


Let's Talk! What Do You Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: